Standards of Learning(SOL)

In Virginia, students enrolled in public schools participate in the state assessment program. Standards of Learning tests are administered to students in grades 3-8 and for select high school courses. Generally, these tests are given online. Any student who is administered a paper test must have a documented need.

  • Elementary
    • 3rd Grade-Reading,  Math
    • 4th Grade-Reading, Math, Virginia Studies
    • 5th Grade-Reading, Math, Science
  • Middle School
    • 6th Grade-Reading, Math
    • 7th Grade- Reading, Math
    • 8th Grade-Reading, Math, Science, Civics, Writing
  • High school
    • Reading,  Writing
    • Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II
    • Earth Science, Biology, Chemistry
    • World History I, World History II, VA & US History

VAAP- Students who participate in the Virginia Alternative Assessment Program must have documented significant cognitive disabilities. Students complete a collection of evidence (COE) to demonstrate achievement of standards (ASOLS) which have been modified in complexity and length. Unlike students in grades 3-8 who must complete a collection of evidence every year, high school students complete one collection of evidence in 11th grade.

ACCESS For ELLs 2.0- As required by the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESSA), a school division must measure the English language progress of all English learners in grades K-12. Students are administered the Access for ELS 2.0 test every year.

 1819 Assessment Brochure